AMGA Foundation Welcomes Three New Board Members, One New Officer for 2019

Alexandria, VA – AMGA Foundation welcomes David Nash, M.D., M.B.A., Edward Yu, M.D., and Donna Montalto, M.P.P., to its Board of Directors. The Foundation also welcomes Beth Averbeck, M.D., as its new AMGA Board Liaison. New terms will officially begin January 1, 2019.

Beth Averbeck, M.D., is HealthPartners Medical Group senior medical director, primary care. Averbeck is responsible for HealthPartners primary care practice, overseeing 350 physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants at 29 primary care clinics, 14 urgent care sites, five occupational health sites, and seven work‐site clinics. She also maintains a clinical practice in geriatrics.

David Nash, M.D., M.B.A., is the Dr. Raymond C. and Doris N. Grandon Professor of Health Policy and the Founding Dean at the Jefferson College of Population Health. He is a board-certified internist who is internationally recognized for his work in public accountability for outcomes, physician leadership development, and quality-of-care improvement. In addition, he is the author of 23 books and a frequent speaker at events and conferences throughout the year.

Edward Yu, M.D., is Palo Alto Medical Foundation medical director, Quality. Dr. Yu is in charge of strategic and tactical elements of Palo Alto Medical Foundation’s (PAMF’s) quality and patient safety programs. He leads various performance evaluation programs to monitor outcomes across numerous patient populations. He oversees PAMF’s patient safety reporting system and improvement efforts. He is also a current fellow in California Health Care Foundation’s (CHCF) Leadership Program.

Donna Montalto, M.P.P., is CareMount Medical, P.C. chief of staff and senior director of special projects. Montalto has been in this position since February 2, 2016. Her responsibilities include strategic planning, corporate communications, analytics, provider recruitment, and coordination of key external relationships.

Board members designated for renewal in 2019 are:

Laura Fegraus, M.S.
VP, External Affairs, Communications and Brand
The Permanente Federation
Executive Director,
Council of Accountable Physician Practices (CAPP)

Todd Hobbs, M.D.
Vice President and Chief Medical Officer,
Novo Nordisk North America

Hector Rodriguez, Ph.D, M.P.H.
Professor, Health Policy and Management,
Chair Health Policy Graduate Group,
University of California, Berkeley

Chair Elect Robert Brenner, M.D., M.M.M., Valley Health System senior vice president and chief physician executive, will also transition to Chair; while current Chair Kevin McCune, M.D., chief medical officer at Advocate Medical Group, will transition to Past Chair.


About AMGA Foundation
AMGA Foundation is AMGA’s philanthropic arm that enables medical groups and other organized systems of care to consistently improve health and health care. AMGA Foundation serves as a catalyst, connector and collaborator for translating the evidence of what works best in improving health and health care in everyday practice. 

About AMGA
AMGA is a trade association leading the transformation of health care in America. Representing multispecialty medical groups and integrated systems of care, we advocate, educate, innovate, and empower our members to deliver the next level of high performance health. AMGA is the national voice promoting awareness of our members’ recognized excellence in the delivery of coordinated, high quality, high-value care. More than 175,000 physicians practice in our member organizations, delivering care to one in three Americans.


Media Contact:

Sharon Grace
Chief Communications Officer
703.838.0033 ext. 393