AMGA Congratulates Members Named to Modern Healthcare’s 100 Most Influential People in Healthcare List

Alexandria, VA – AMGA congratulates the leaders from our member medical groups, health systems, and corporate partners named to Modern Healthcare’s 100 Most Influential People in Healthcare 2018 list.

The list honors individuals in health care who are deemed by their peers and the senior editors of Modern Healthcare to be the most influential individuals in the industry in terms of leadership and impact.

“We congratulate the leaders from our member medical groups, health systems, and corporate partners who are among Modern Healthcare’s 100 Most Influential People in Healthcare in 2018,” said Jerry Penso, M.D., M.B.A., AMGA president and chief executive officer. “AMGA’s entire community of leaders—from both medical group members and corporate partners—are wholeheartedly committed to improving our healthcare system for our patients and communities, so it’s exciting to see some of them receive the recognition they deserve. We look forward to their future contributions and innovations.”

The following AMGA members are represented on Modern Healthcare’s list:

AMGA Member Medical Groups:

  • Bernard Tyson - Chairman and CEO - Kaiser Permanente
  • Dr. Stephen Klasko - President and CEO - Thomas Jefferson University and Jefferson Health
  • Dr. David Feinberg - President and CEO - Geisinger Health
  • Dr. Marc Harrison - President and CEO - Intermountain Healthcare
  • Dr. Nick Turkal - Co-president and Co-CEO - Advocate Aurora Health
  • Jim Skogsbergh - Co-president and Co-CEO - Advocate Aurora Health
  • Lloyd Dean - President and CEO - Dignity Health
  • Dr. Richard Gilfillan - CEO - Trinity Health
  • Nancy Howell Agee - President and CEO - Carilion Clinic
  • Andrea Walsh - President and CEO - HealthPartners
  • Dr. John Noseworthy - President and CEO - Mayo Clinic
  • Michael Dowling - President and CEO - Northwell Health
  • Drew Altman - President and CEO - Kaiser Family Foundation
  • Dr. David Torchiana - President and CEO - Partners HealthCare
  • Wright Lassiter III - President and CEO - Henry Ford Health System
  • Howard Kern - President and CEO - Sentara Healthcare
  • Dr. Paul Rothman - CEO - Johns Hopkins Medicine
  • Kent Thiry - Chairman and CEO - DaVita
  • Dr. Gary Kaplan - Chairman and CEO - Virginia Mason Health System
  • Laura Kaiser - President and CEO - SSM Health
  • Dr. Joanne Conroy - President and CEO - Dartmouth-Hitchcock and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Health
  • Kevin Lofton - CEO - Catholic Health Initiatives
  • Randy Oostra - President and CEO - ProMedica
  • Dr. Tomislav Mihaljevic - President and CEO - Cleveland Clinic
  • Dr. Penny Wheeler - President and CEO - Allina Health
  • Dr. Mark Schuster - Founding dean and CEO - Kaiser Permanente School of Medicine

AMGA Corporate Partners:

  • Larry Renfro - Vice chairman, UnitedHealth Group; founder and managing partner, Optum Ventures
  • Bruce Broussard - President and CEO - Humana
  • Judith Faulkner - Founder and CEO - Epic Systems Corp.
  • Deborah DiSanzo - General Manager - IBM Watson Health
  • Dr. Mark Chassin - President and CEO - Joint Commission
  • Dr. Olivier Brandicourt - President and CEO - Sanofi

Modern Healthcare’s full list of honorees can be found on their website.


About AMGA
AMGA is a trade association leading the transformation of health care in America. Representing multispecialty medical groups and integrated systems of care, we advocate, educate, innovate, and empower our members to deliver the next level of high performance health. AMGA is the national voice promoting awareness of our members’ recognized excellence in the delivery of coordinated, high quality, high-value care. More than 175,000 physicians practice in our member organizations, delivering care to one in three Americans.


Media Contact:

Sharon Grace
Chief Communications Officer
703.838.0033 ext. 393