AMGA Announces 2020 Board and Executive Committee

Alexandria, VA – AMGA announces its 2020 Board of Directors and welcomes five new members. Appointments were effective January 1, 2020.

“AMGA’s Board represents many of the nation’s highest performing medical groups and integrated systems of care that are leading the transformation of health care,” said Jerry Penso, M.D., M.B.A., AMGA president and chief executive officer. “Their expertise will be instrumental as we implement our new strategic plan and pursue our mission to make certain our model of care is the preeminent model in the nation. Integrated, patient-centered, value-based, and physician-led care is essential to bringing about a healthier America, our ultimate goal.”

Eventus WholeHealth chief executive officer and Wake Forest Health Network general internist Grace Emerson Terrell, M.D., M.M.M., will serve as AMGA’s Board Chair in 2020. A renowned quality improvement strategist, innovator, and experienced leader, Terrell has been actively involved with AMGA for more than a decade. She succeeds CareMount Medical, P.C. chief operating officer Christopher J. Sclafani, PE, M.B.A., who will remain on the Board’s Executive Committee as Immediate Past Chair.

“The U.S. healthcare system is in transition, which is why AMGA’s ability to equip medical group and health system decision-makers with the knowledge and expertise they need to feel confident about their decisions is so crucial,” Terrell said. “I am honored to work alongside the highly accomplished members of the Board to enhance AMGA’s value to its members and advance high performance health.”

AMGA Board appointments, including its Executive Committee, represent the breadth and diversity of AMGA’s membership. The full 2020 Executive Committee includes:

  • Grace E. Terrell, M.D., M.M.M., FACP, FACPE (Chair)
    Chief Executive Officer
    Eventus WholeHealth
    General Internist
    Wake Forest Health Network
  • Tim Weir, M.H.A., M.B.A., FACHE (Chair Elect)
    Chief Executive Officer
    Olmsted Medical Center
  • Aric Sharp, M.H.A., CMPE, FACHE (Treasurer)
    ACO Chief Executive Officer
    Wilmington Health PLLC
  • J. Stephen Jones, M.D. (Secretary)
    Chief Executive Officer
    Inova Health System
  • Larry Tatum, M.D. (At Large Member)
    Chief Executive Officer
    Privia Medical Group North Texas
  • Christopher J. Sclafani, PE, M.B.A. (Immediate Past Chair)
    Chief Operating Officer
    CareMount Medical, P.C.
  • Jerry Penso, M.D., M.B.A. (AMGA President and Chief Executive Officer)
    President and Chief Executive Officer

The new Board appointments for 2020 are:

  • Richard H. Bone, M.D.
    Senior Medical Director, Population Health
    AdvocateAuroraHealth/Advocate Medical Group
  • Stephanie Copeland, M.D., FAAP, M.B.A, CPHQ
    Senior Medical Director – Quality
    OptumCare DFW Region, WellMed, USMD
  • Theresa M. Frei, R.N., B.S.N., M.B.A.
    President and CEO Sutter Valley Medical Foundation
    Sutter Health
  • Philip M. Oravetz, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A.
    Chief Population Health Officer
    Ochsner Health System
  • Michael A. Rossi, M.D., M.B.A., FACC
    Lehigh Valley Physician Group
    Chief Physician Executive
    Lehigh Valley Health Network

Eight individuals will continue their Board service in 2020:

  • Beth Averbeck, M.D.
    Senior Medical Director, Primary Care
    HealthPartners Medical Group
  • Mark Briesacher, M.D.
    Senior Vice President, Chief Physician Executive
    Intermountain Healthcare
    Intermountain Medical Group
  • Carol E. Brockmiller, CMPE
    Chief Executive Officer
    Quincy Medical Group
  • Scott Hines, M.D.
    Chief Quality Officer and Medical Director
    Crystal Run Healthcare
  • Richard S. Isaacs, M.D., FACS
    Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director
    The Permanente Medical Group, Inc.
    President and Chief Executive Officer
    The Midā€Atlantic Permanente Medical Group, P.C. Kaiser Permanente
  • Kim Sherbrooke, M.H.A., FACMPE
    Vice President
    Johns Hopkins Medicine
    Chief Operating Officer
    Office of Johns Hopkins Physicians
  • Karen Weiner, M.D., M.M.M., CPE
    Chief Executive Officer
    Oregon Medical Group
  • Mary Jo Williamson
    Chief Administrative Officer
    Mayo Clinic Health System
    Vice Chair, Administration
    Mayo Clinic

About AMGA

AMGA is a trade association leading the transformation of health care in America. Representing multispecialty medical groups and integrated systems of care, we advocate, educate, innovate, and empower our members to deliver the next level of high performance health. AMGA is the national voice promoting awareness of our members’ recognized excellence in the delivery of coordinated, high quality, high-value care. More than 175,000 physicians practice in our member organizations, delivering care to one in three Americans.


Media Contact:

Sharon Grace
Chief Communications Officer
703.838.0033 ext. 393