AMGA Foundation Announces 2019 Executive Committee
Valley Health System’s Brenner Elected as President

Alexandria, VA – AMGA Foundation unveiled its slate of Executive Committee members for CY 2019.

“The AMGA Foundation Executive Committee and our entire Board represent organizations that are revolutionizing health care,” said John Kennedy, M.D., president, AMGA Foundation, and chief medical officer, AMGA. “Their dedication and expertise will lead us on our journey of making our Vision 2025 goal a reality: 100 million healthier Americans by 2025.”

Robert Brenner, M.D., M.M.M., senior vice president and chief physician officer at Valley Health System is serving as chair of the board. In addition to his leadership role at Valley Health System, Dr. Brenner is a sought-out presenter on a variety of topics that include healthcare reform, , value in health care, , effective healthcare systems and strategic planning, multispecialty group practices, , and health information technologies. He has been involved with AMGA for many years, having previously served on the advisory committee for the Best Practices in Managing Patients with Heart Failure Learning Collaborative.

“Through the Foundation’s work, we are impacting the health of millions of patients throughout this country,” said Brenner. “By offering AMGA members—who treat one in three Americans—support through evidence-based research, data, shared best practices, and innovative solutions to effectively manage the nation’s most devastating chronic conditions, we have the ability to improve countless lives, both in this generation and in many to come.”

Other Executive Committee members include:

Kevin McCune, M.D. (Past Chair), chief medical officer at Advocate Medical Group, the largest medical group in Illinois, is charged with championing excellent clinical outcomes from administration to direct patient care.

Theresa Frei, R.N., M.B.A. (Treasurer), is the chief executive officer for Sutter Medical Foundation, where she oversees all activities of the care centers and ancillary operations across nine counties. Frei was elected to the AMGA Foundation Board in 2016 and has been active in helping to shape Foundation programs.

Jerry Penso, M.D., M.B.A. (Secretary), is president and chief executive officer at AMGA. Dr. Penso previously served as chief medical and quality officer for AMGA and president of AMGA Foundation. Under his leadership, the impact of AMGA’s quality programs grew to improve care for 26 million patients.

John Kennedy, M.D. (President), is president, AMGA Foundation, and chief medical officer, AMGA. Dr. Kennedy previously served as division director of endocrinology at Geisinger Health System in Danville, PA, where he led clinical, education, research, and quality program development and expansion for the health system.

Beth Averbeck, M.D. (AMGA Liaison), is HealthPartners Medical Group’s senior medical director, primary care. Averbeck is responsible for HealthPartners’ primary care practice, overseeing 350 physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants at 29 primary care clinics, 14 urgent care sites, 5 occupational health sites, and 7 work‐site clinics. She also maintains a clinical practice in geriatrics.

Directors include:

  • Deloris Ann Berrien-Jones, M.D.
    Internal Medicine, Physician Champion Diabetes Initiative
    Henry Ford Medical Group/Henry Ford Health System
  • Frederick J. Bloom, Jr., M.D.
    Guthrie Medical Group, P.C.
  • John Bulger, D.O., M.B.A.
    Chief Medical Officer
    Geisinger Health System
  • Deborah Chandler, M.B.A., CMPE
    Chief Executive Officer
    Matthews-Vu Medical Group
  • Stephanie Copeland, M.D., FAAP
    Chief Quality Officer
    USMD Health System
  • Joe Delatorre
    Chief Executive Officer
    Florida Medical Clinic
  • Laura Fegraus, M.S.
    Vice President, External Affairs, Communications and Brand, The Permanente Federation, LLC
    Executive Director, Council of Accountable Physician Practices (CAPP)
  • Todd Hobbs, M.D.
    Vice President and Chief Medical Officer
    Novo Nordisk North America
  • Donna Montalto, M.P.P.*
    Chief of Staff and Senior Director of Special Projects
    CareMount Medical, P.C.
  • David B. Nash, M.D., M.B.A.*
    Dr. Raymond C. and Doris N. Grandon Professor of Health Policy and the Founding Dean
    The Jefferson College of Population Health
  • Hector Rodriguez, Ph.D., M.P.H.
    Professor, Health Policy and Management, and Chair, Health Policy Graduate Group
    University of California, Berkeley
  • Christina Taylor, M.D.
    Chief Quality Officer
    The Iowa Clinic
  • Edward M. Yu, M.D., FAAFP, CMQ, CPPS, CPE*
    Chief Quality Officer
    Palo Alto Medical Foundation (PAMF) at Sutter Health

* Indicates newly elected member


About AMGA Foundation
AMGA Foundation is AMGA’s philanthropic arm that enables medical groups and other organized systems of care to consistently improve health and health care. AMGA Foundation serves as a catalyst, connector and collaborator for translating the evidence of what works best in improving health and health care in everyday practice. 

About AMGA
AMGA is a trade association leading the transformation of health care in America. Representing multispecialty medical groups and integrated systems of care, we advocate, educate, innovate, and empower our members to deliver the next level of high performance health. AMGA is the national voice promoting awareness of our members’ recognized excellence in the delivery of coordinated, high quality, high-value care. More than 175,000 physicians practice in our member organizations, delivering care to one in three Americans.


Media Contact:

Sharon Grace
Chief Communications Officer
703.838.0033 ext. 393