AMGA Announces 2022 Board and Executive Committee

Alexandria, VA – AMGA announces its 2022 Board of Directors and welcomes five new members who will serve three-year terms. Appointments were effective January 1, 2022.

“We are immensely grateful for the service of our 2020-2021 Board of Directors. Their strategic decision-making helped AMGA navigate through the COVID-19 pandemic and emerge stronger than ever,” said Jerry Penso, M.D., M.B.A., AMGA president and chief executive officer. “Likewise, we are thrilled to welcome the new members to this year’s Board and look forward to the host of fresh ideas this diverse group of leaders will bring to our organization.”

Olmsted Medical Center Chief Executive Officer Tim Weir, M.H.A., M.B.A., will serve as AMGA’s Board Chair in 2022. A renowned administrative strategist, innovator, and experienced leader, Weir has been actively involved with AMGA for more than a decade. He succeeds Atrium Health Wake Forest Baptist general internist Grace Emerson Terrell, M.D., M.M.M., FACP, FACPE who will remain on the Board’s Executive Committee as Immediate Past Chair.

“As members, our medical groups turn to AMGA for everything from clinical best practices and strategies for operational excellence to regulatory relief and paths to value-based care,” Weir said. “I’m honored to serve as Chair of an organization that plays such a critical role in the medical group ecosystem.”

AMGA’s 2022 Board of Directors includes the following individuals.


Executive Committee:

Tim Weir, M.H.A., M.B.A., FACHE


Chief Executive Officer

Olmsted Medical Center


Aric Sharp, M.H.A., CMPE, FACHE

Chair Elect

Senior Vice President, Chief Transformation Officer


Larry Tatum, M.D.


Chief Executive Officer

Privia Medical Group North Texas

J. Stephen Jones, M.D.


Chief Executive Officer

Inova Health System

Beth Averbeck, M.D.

At-Large Member

Senior Medical Director, Primary Care


Grace Emerson Terrell, M.D., M.M.M., FACP, FACPE

Immediate Past Chair

General Internist

Atrium Health Wake Forest Baptist


Jerry Penso, M.D., M.B.A.

President and CEO

President and Chief Executive Officer




Richard Bone, M.D.

Senior Medical Director, Population Health

Advocate Medical Group


Carol Brockmiller, CMPE

Chief Executive Officer

Quincy Medical Group


Stephanie Copeland, M.D., M.B.A, FAAP, CPHQ

Senior Medical Director – Quality

OptumCare DFW Region, WellMed, USMD


Daniel M. Duncanson, M.D., CPE 

Chief Executive Officer and Board Chair 



Theresa Manley Frei, R.N., B.S.N., M.B.A. 

President and CEO

Sutter Valley Medical Foundation


Luis Garcia, M.D., M.B.A., FACS, FASMBS 

Clinic President, Sanford Health System 

Sanford Health


Katherine Flynn Henry, J.D. 

Chief Administrative Officer

Austin Regional Clinic


Richard S. Isaacs, M.D., FACS  

Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director

The Permanente Medical Group, Inc.

President and Chief Executive Officer

The Midā€Atlantic Permanente Medical Group, P.C.


Keith A. (Tony) Jones, M.D.

President, UA Health Services Foundation

Chief Physician Executive

UAB Health System


Adnan R. Munkarah, M.D., CPE 

EVP, Chief Clinical Officer

Henry Ford Health System


Philip M. Oravetz, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A. 

Chief Population Health Officer,

Ochsner Health


Michael A. Rossi, M.D., M.B.A., FACC 

Executive Vice President & Chief Clinical Officer

Lehigh Valley Health Network


Kimberlee Sherbrooke, M.H.A., FACMPE 

Vice President

Johns Hopkins Medicine

Chief Operating Officer

Office of Johns Hopkins Physicians


Mary Jo Williamson 

Vice Chair, Administration

Mayo Clinic


About AMGA

 AMGA is a trade association leading the transformation of health care in America. Representing multispecialty medical groups and integrated systems of care, we advocate, educate, innovate, and empower our members to deliver the next level of high performance health. AMGA is the national voice promoting awareness of our members’ recognized excellence in the delivery of coordinated, high-quality, high-value care. Over 177,000 physicians practice in our member organizations, delivering care to more than one in three Americans.


Media Contact:

Sharon Grace
Chief Communications Officer
703.838.0033 ext. 393