Sharon Grace
Vice President, Public Relations
703.838.0033 ext. 393

January 9, 2018

AMGA Welcomes New Members to Board of Directors

Alexandria, VA — AMGA today announced the addition of four new members to its Board of Directors, beginning their tenure in January 2018. Joining the AMGA Board are the following:

Beth Averbeck, M.D., Senior Medical Director, Primary Care, HealthPartners Medical Group, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Dr. Averbeck is HealthPartners Medical Group’s senior medical director, primary care. She has extensive experience in organizational culture, clinical operations, governance, quality improvement, measure development, and physician resilience. Dr. Averbeck joined HealthPartners in 1992 as a practicing internist and is now responsible for HealthPartners primary care practice overseeing 350 physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants at 29 primary care clinics, 14 urgent care sites, 5 occupational health sites, and 7 work‐site clinics. She maintains a clinical practice in geriatrics.

Dr. Averbeck earned a bachelor’s degree at St. Olaf College in Northfield, MN, and earned her Doctor of Medicine from the University of Minnesota Medical School. She is a clinical assistant professor in the school’s Department of Medicine, a board member and past chair of Minnesota Community Measurement, board vice‐chair of the Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement and has served as chair of the Quality Council of the American Medical Group Association. In 2010, the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal recognized her with a Women in Business Industry Leader Award.

Mark Briesacher, M.D., Senior Vice President, Chief Physician Executive, Intermountain Healthcare, and President, Intermountain Medical Group, Salt Lake City, Utah

Dr. Briesacher is Intermountain Healthcare’s senior vice president and chief physician executive, and Intermountain Medical Group’s president. In his role, Dr. Briesacher is responsible for advancing Intermountain's longstanding efforts to be a leader in care that is centered on patient safety, quality, extraordinary experiences, great access, and stewardship. In earlier roles, he led the implementation of KidsCare, served as a region medical director, and then as senior administrative medical director for the Intermountain Medical Group. Recently, Dr. Briesacher led Intermountain's implementation of iCentra, their clinical and business information systems.

Dr. Briesacher received his Bachelor of Arts in chemistry at Central Methodist College and his Doctor of Medicine from the University of Missouri-Columbia. Dr. Briesacher then moved to Salt Lake City and completed his internship and residency in pediatrics at the University of Utah and Primary Children's Hospital.

Scott Hines, M.D., Chief Quality Officer and Medical Director, Crystal Run Healthcare, Middletown, New York

Scott Hines, M.D., is Crystal Run Healthcare’s chief quality officer and medical director of the medical specialties division. Dr. Hines is board certified in internal medicine, endocrinology, diabetes, and metabolism. In his role as chief quality officer, he helps to develop and implement the clinical programs necessary to deliver value-based care. These include the creation of best practice guidelines, a variation reduction program, and continuous quality improvement initiatives.

Dr. Hines earned his medical degree from the Wake Forest University in Winston‐Salem, NC and completed his residency in internal medicine at the Dartmouth‐Hitchcock Medical Center in Lebanon, NH. Dr. Hines completed his endocrinology fellowship at the University of Maryland Medical Center in Baltimore, MD.

Karen Weiner, M.D., Chief Executive Officer, Oregon Medical Group, Eugene, Oregon

Karen Weiner, M.D., serves as the chief executive officer of Oregon Medical Group, an independent, physician‐owned multispecialty medical organization in the Northwest. Dedicated to fostering a patient‐focused, physician‐led, and sustainable healthcare organization, she is committed to improving workforce wellness in health care, developing leadership capabilities in others, building population‐health competencies, and creating an organizational culture of excellence that inspires physicians and employees to exceed expectations.

Dr. Weiner earned her medical degree from the University of Southern California and completed her pediatric residency at OHSU Doernbecher Children’s Hospital in Portland, OR. She earned her Master’s Degree in medical management at the University of Southern California.

The AMGA Board of Directors represents the leadership of some of the association's most prominent member medical groups. Following is a complete listing of the 2018 AMGA Board of Directors:

Chair: Ashok Rai, M.D. President and Chief Executive Officer, Prevea Health
Chair Elect: Christopher J. Sclafani, PE, M.B.A., Chief Administrative Officer, CareMount Medical
Secretary: Tim Weir, M.H.A., M.B.A., FACHE, Chief Executive Officer, Olmsted Medical Center
Treasurer: Grace Terrell, M.D., M.M.M., FACP, FACPE, Chief Executive Officer, Envision Genomics/General Internist, Wake Forest Baptist Healthcare Cornerstone Internal Medicine
At Large Member: Aric Sharp, M.H.A., CMPE, FACHE, Vice President, Accountable Care, Unity Point Health
Immediate Past Chair: Donn E. Sorensen, M.B.A., FACMPE, President, East Region, Mercy
President and Chief Executive Officer: Jerry Penso, M.D., M.B.A., President and Chief Executive Officer, AMGA

Beth Averbeck, M.D., Senior Medical Director, Primary Care, HealthPartners Medical Group
Mark Briesacher, M.D., Senior Vice President, Chief Physician Executive, Intermountain Healthcare, and President, Intermountain Medical Group
Mark DeRubeis, M.B.A., Chief Executive Officer, Premier Medical Associates
Steven A. Green, M.D., Chief Medical Officer, Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Group
Scott Hines, M.D., Chief Quality Officer and Medical Director, Crystal Run Healthcare
J. Stephen Jones, M.D., President, Regional Hospitals & Family Health Centers, Cleveland Clinic
Thomas S. Nantais, M.B.A., Chief Operating Officer, Henry Ford Medical Group
Shane Peng, M.D., FAAFP, former President, SSM Health
Larry Tatum, M.D., Chief Executive Officer, Privia Medical Group North Texas
Karen Weiner, M.D., M.M.M., CPE, Chief Executive Officer, Oregon Medical Group

Members of the AMGA Board whose term ended December 31, 2017, include Jeffrey W. Bailet, M.D., executive vice president, healthcare quality and affordability, Blue Shield of California; Sharon R. Gabrielson, M.H.A., chair, Mayo Clinic global business solutions, Mayo Clinic; Matthew D. Gibb, M.D., FACC, FACP, FSCAI, chief medical officer and executive senior vice president, Carle Physician Group; C. Todd Staub, M.D., FACP, senior vice president, physician relations, OptumCare; and Don L. Wreden, M.D., senior vice president for patient experience, Sutter Health

About AMGA
AMGA is a trade association leading the transformation of health care in America. Representing multispecialty medical groups and integrated systems of care, we advocate, educate, innovate and empower our members to deliver the next level of high performance health. AMGA is the national voice promoting awareness of medical groups’ recognized excellence in the delivery of coordinated, high-quality, cost-effective care. More than 175,000 physicians practice in our member organizations, delivering care to one in three Americans. For more information,