Advisory Committee

The Obesity Care Model Collaborative (OCMC) is a program development collaborative with an objective to pilot, define, and evaluate a framework and necessary components to address obesity in patients served by multispecialty medical groups and integrated health systems. Two committees (program development and measurement) of expert advisors are drafting the framework and measures, and developed the inclusion criteria for selection of AMGA member organizations to participate in a population-based approach to obesity management for patients treated in primary care. Advisors have been selected based on their expertise in key competencies and experience in managing patients with obesity.

Ten AMGA member groups were selected based on their ability to contribute to the further development of the framework, test measures, and their commitment to implement an obesity program that includes a minimum range of services, either within the group or through referral partnership. Each organization have selected a representative to serve on the advisory committee.  Participating organizations will meet in-person four times, plus via a series of webinars, to share insights and challenges and to refine the framework and measures based on the data and their experiences. Facilitation and support of the implementation is being provided by the AMGA Foundation including administrative support, telephonic and onsite support, online tools and resources, monthly educational webinars and data/analytic support.

OCMC is presented by AMGA Foundation in collaboration with Novo Nordisk, Inc. The collaborative is also supported by an Advisory Committee of physicians and quality improvement experts to help guide the development of the collaborative:

Doris M. Boutain, Ph.D., R.N., John and Marguerite Walker Corbally Professor in Public Service, University of Washington School of Nursing


Barbara Hodne, D.O., Associate Quality Director, The Iowa Clinic


Kathy Mostafaie, M.D., Medical Director, HealthCare Partners

Paula Burich, R.N., B.S.N., Director, Sharp Rees-Stealy Center for Health Management


Deborah Horn, D.O., M.P.H., Medical Director, UT Center of Obesity Medicine and Metabolic Performance, Obesity Medicine Association


Joe Nadglowski, President/CEO, Obesity Action Coalition

Barto Burguera, M.D. Ph.D., Professor of Medicine, Director of Obesity Programs, Cleveland Clinic


Robert Kushner, M.D., Past President, The Obesity Society


Michelle O’Meara, D.O., Bariatric Physician, Utica Park Clinic

Timothy Garvey, M.D., Professor of Medicine and Chair, Department of Nutrition Sciences, University of Alabama at Birmingham, American Association of Clinical Endocrinologist (AACE)


Natasha Malesevich, M.H.A., Senior Project Manager, Strategic Operations - Transformation Team, Aurora Health Care


Marianne Sumego, M.D.
Staff Physician, Internal Medicine/Pediatrics
Director, Shared Medical Appointments, Cleveland Clinic
Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine CCLCM of CWRU

Gina Gordon, R.N., RD, L.D.N., Manager, Bariatric Program, Novant Health


Kara Mayes, M.D., Family Medicine Physician, Mercy Clinic


Andrew Toth, M.D., Family Medicine Physician, Confluence Health

Timothy Harlan, M.D., FACP, Executive Director, Goldring Center for Culinary Medicine, Tulane University Medical Group


Kathleen Morton, M.D., Internist, Coastal Medical, East Providence


Verlyn Warrington, M.D., Medical Director, Bariatric Medicine, The Guthrie Clinic


Questions or Comments? If you have questions or need further information, contact Erin Leaver-Schmidt at or by phone at (703) 838-0033, ext. 390.